Outgoing Presidents Message

Dear AESA Members,

It has been my honor and pleasure to serve as AESA President for the last year. Thank you very much for allowing me the opportunity to do so.

I want to express my appreciation to each of you for your participation in AESA and for making this last year’s activities so successful. We had over 90 attendees at the Flagstaff conference and anticipate well over 100 for the September conference. This level of attendance is extremely gratifying as we move ahead in AESA’s “recovery” phase after so many years of being in the survival mode due to the impact of the economic downturn and reduced membership. With the help of all of you, we can continue building AESA membership and conference attendance to provide service and assistance to many more of our professional colleagues. By continuing to work as a statewide team we can further develop better ways to meet every member’s professional needs for enhanced networking, current information on evolving threats and statewide activities, and dissemination of the best practices, lessons learned, and new ideas from throughout the emergency services field.

I wish to extend special thanks to Shelly, Joe, Ken, Rob, Denny, Marshall, Ron, and Todd for their time, dedication, and hard work. No, they are not Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, but your ace AESA board members for the 2015-2016 year (and some of them for many prior years as well). The fresh conference topics, improved website, strong financial health, enhanced outreach to the various disciplines and to students, and other accomplishments have been due to their expertise, initiative, and ability to think outside the box. They made my job very easy and served AESA extremely well so please give them all a pat on the back when you have the chance.

The 2016-2017 Year is shaping up to be a banner one for AESA, and President Rob Rowley and the rest of the Board have some great ideas on how we can keep AESA growing and providing leadership to Arizona’s emergency services community. Thank you for all you do to keep our communities safe, prepared, and resilient.

Byron Steward, 2015-2016 President